Mission: First Night® Morris County, a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, seeks to foster the public’s appreciation of visual and performing arts through an innovative, diverse, and high-quality New Year’s Eve program which offers the community a shared cultural experience that is accessible and affordable to all.

What is First Night? First Night® Morris County began in 1992 and is now the LARGEST First Night® in New Jersey, attracting nearly 10,000 participants each year. An alcohol-free celebration of arts and culture, First Night® Morris County attracts families, seniors, singles and anyone looking for an exciting way to ring in the New Year!

Program: First Night® Morris County features more than 200 artists in over 80 performances at 24 venues throughout Morristown ranging from dance and comedy to music and children’s performers. The event has showcased rock and roll, classical, blues, jazz, opera, choral music, and so much more. Attendees return year after year to see their favorite performers and new artists for the first time. Artistic programming is made possible by Morris Arts.

Fireworks light up the sky at 9PM with a grand finale fireworks display at midnight!

Where is First Night? First Night® performances take place in venues within walking distance of the Morristown Green, including Mayo Performing Arts Center, Morristown High School, county administration buildings, and numerous places of worship in the immediate area. The evening continues regardless of the weather. Free parking is provided at select locations, and complimentary shuttle service runs all evening.

Who Organizes First Night? First Night® Morris County is run by a volunteer Board of Trustees whose members come from a variety of backgrounds and work year-round to support the mission of First Night® Morris County.

Meet Our Board Of Trustees


Daniel Della Paolera



Gail Behrle


Richard Polk



Quincy Chau


Jocelyn Cornine



Dr. Lynn L. Siebert, Morris Arts

Artistic Programmer


Michelle Polk


Craig Scholosser


Advisory Board

Our Advisory Board is comprised of a diverse group of dedicated community members who share insights and feedback regarding First Night Morris County’s impact on their respective municipalities. These individuals meet 3-4 times a year to help shape the First Night experience.

If you are interested in joining our Advisory Board, please contact us for more information about this rewarding experience!

Michael Schmidt
Advisory Board Chair & Former Chair First Night Morris County

Jocelyn Cornine
Board Liaison

Pam Fischer
Former Chair First Night Morris County

Mayor Timothy Dougherty of Morristown

Ryan Marowitz
Morristown Deli & Morristown Partnership

P.J. Thurkauf
UPS Store of Morristown & Morristown Rotary

Steven F. Miller
Infinite Dimensions Inc.

Stephen Nebesni
Municipal Alliance of Morris County

Michael Dundon
Mayo Performing Arts Center

Kevin Coughlin

Officer Cousins
Morristown Police Department

Mark Spaldo
Boy Scouts of America

Thomas Woodard
Atlantic Healthcare

Manal Abeskaron
Peapack-Gladstone Bank

Kyle Noonan

Robert Peluso
Kearny Bank

Cathleen Lewis
AAA Northeast

David Jorge
Executive Business Brokers

Brandi Marks
Full House Events

Craig Schlosser
Director, First Night Morris County